Dutch Caribbean

The Netherlands Antilles until October 10, 2010 consisted of the five island territories Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

As a result of a constitutional reform of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, agreed between the governments of the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba, the Netherlands Antilles has ceased to exist as a separate jurisdiction effective as of October 10, 2010.

Curaçao and Sint Maarten have become separate countries (landen) within the Kingdom, each having its own government.

Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba (together the BES Islands) each have become part of the Netherlands, with the status of separate public bodies (openbaar lichaam), to some extent comparable to municipalities.

Since October 10, 2010, the Kingdom of the Netherlands consists of the Netherlands (including the BES Islands), Curaçao, Aruba and Sint Maarten.

Civil Law Notary’s Office Moerdijk & Palm – Curaçao

Structuur van het Koninkrijk der Nederlanden